Bangkok

Hey all! My time in Thailand has begun and I’ve spent the first few days in Bangkok. This city has been a bit of a shock for me since I was just in Laos, which is not nearly as developed, even in Vientiane. Regardless, I still managed to get around without being too overwhelmed. I started off Thailand right with a Pad Thai for dinner. Then I explored the area near my hostel, which was pretty far from most of the touristy things in the city, so there wasn’t too much going on there. I didn’t wander too far so the only thing to note was that I passed Soi Cowboy street, basically this tiny street full of Thai strip clubs. Pretty gross.
The next day I got off to a bit of a late start and went with some people from the hostel to see the grand palace and reclining Buddha at Wat Pho. Now traffic in Bangkok is insane all the time so we attempted to take the train a bit closer to the palace and then get a cab from there. It probably took us an hour to actually find a taxi that was free and understood where we wanted to go, then it was at least another half hour to the palace. Eventually we made it and while the palace was full of tourists, it was really quite remarkable. It’s essentially made up of a bunch of temples, including the temple of the emerald Buddha. The temples are made up of a so many intricate designs, not only sculptures and paintings but also mosaics of tiles.


After the grand palace we went over to Wat Pho, temple home to the reclining Buddha. This is a humongous (the actual word they use in the description at the temple) golden Buddha that is lying on its side and takes up an entire building. On one side of the Buddha, you can buy a dish full of coins that you drop into a series of pots. We didn’t realize this at the time but these were 108 prayer pots, that supposedly if you drop a penny into each one, your wishes will come true. We did this and then continued to walk around the rest of the temple, which was a lot less crowded then the grand palace and just as beautiful.


The next day I did some admin in the morning and then went to meet up with an old camp friend, Gyorgy. We got lunch at this huge mall, which was yummy. It was really nice to catch up, even if it was short, since he’s working in Bangkok. I then wandered around the mall a bit just to see what it was like and passed some art installations, really fancy, expensive brands and three different Ladurée shops! For those who don’t know, Ladurée is a fancy macaroon maker from France.


After the mall I went back to the hostel for a bit and a few of us decided to go to this market called Asiatique. These markets were really cool, especially since we had to take this free ferry over to them. They were definitely a bit more pricey then typical street markets, but it was still cool to see them and see a different part of the city.


After the markets we started to make our way back to the hostel and stopped at this ice cream place called Mo and Moshi. The big thing about this place is that they serve huge sundaes, we’re talking over 22 scoops of ice cream. The huge sundaes were a bit too pricey for us, so we got something a bit smaller. However, we saw at least three couples order these huge sundaes for themselves, and it was pretty incredible to see them attempt to eat it.


So I haven’t mentioned this yet, but the highlight of my time in Bangkok was definitely the dog that was in my hostel room. One of the girls staying there rescued a dog in India and is traveling with her. So the whole time I got lots of puppy time with a sweet Indian street dog, Parvatee. It was amazing.


Anyways, I’m on a bus up to Sukhothai, which will be my second city in Thailand. Keep an eye out for my next post!

Leave a Reply

