My final days in Sydney

I cannot believe it’s finally the day I leave Australia for good for this trip.  Sydney has become my home over the past few months and it will always hold a special place in my heart.  Unfortunately it was raining most of the past few days I was back in Sydney, though it was a blessing in disguise since I was pretty exhausted after my trip to NZ.  While a lot of my time was spent planning my trip to Southeast Asia, I did get to do a few things in Sydney.  As I was staying with my family friends, Joe and Greg we had a few very nice dinners and I was able to dogsit for them while they went to Melbourne for a night.


I spent some time with Becca (my good friend from the hostel for those of you who don’t know) and we went to the Glebe markets and also back to my favorite view of the city, blackwattle bay.


I also got to see some of my coworkers before leaving.  On Sunday night I went to Sydney trapeze school’s staff training to fly for the last time and afterwards we went out to the pub for dinner and some drinks.  One of my coworkers, Brian brought balloons and made me and Alex (it was also his birthday) really aweso balloon hats (see below)!  I’m really going to miss working with everyone as I had such a wonderful experience working at STS.


After the pub I went back to Maddy’s house for a bit and spur of the moment let her housemate give me a haircut! I’ve pretty much gone full on Miley Cyrus at this point and I’m loving it!

​​
The very last thing I did in Sydney was go to the hunter valley region for some wine tours with a catering coworker, Dom and his friends.  There are over 160 wineries there and we managed to get to 6 of them in one day, plus a chocolate shop at the very end.  Needless to say I had a wonderful time trying all of the different wines.  Plus the hunter valley is quite a beautiful place. It was a great way to spend my last full day in Sydney.


I’m currently at the airport waiting for my flight to Bali, which is my first stop on South East Asia.  I’m a bit nervous to be traveling to a non English speaking country alone, but I’m sure it will be fine and I’m really excited to explore SE asia.  It’s tough to say goodbye Sydney, but I’m sure I’ll be back. 

Leave a Reply

