Christchurch

Hey all, sorry for the delay in posts but my hostel in Christchurch made you pay for wifi.  I’m writing now from the airport waiting for my flight back to Sydney.  The last city I visited in NZ was Christchurch.  Now Christchurch suffered an earthquake a few years back and the city is still recovering and rebuilding.  As a result there wasn’t too much to see, but it was still a cool city to visit, even if it was raining for most of the time I was there. On my first full day there I started my morning with a 2 hour walking tour of the city in which our tour guide talked a lot about the history of the city and the aftermath of he earthquake.  My favorite part was the re:start mall, a mall made up of shipping containers.


After the tour I went to check out the art gallery, which was small but really quite nice.  I believe pretty much all of the works there were done by kiwis (for those who don’t know this is the way people from NZ refer to themselves).


After the art gallery I went to check out the Canterbury museum which was pretty cool and also covered a lot of NZ/Christchurch history.


The next day I took a day trip to Akaroa, which is a small town about an hour and a half from Christchurch.  The town had a lot of French colonists and so there’s still quite a lot of French influence, which was cool.  I was originally supposed to go on a nature cruise of the area, but unfortunately it got canceled due to the bad weather.  Luckily it stopped raining so walking around the town wasn’t too bad.  But Akaroa is a really small town so I was able to see pretty much all of it within a  short amount of time.  I ended up walking to the lighthouse, going a couple of the small walking trails, checking out the museum and spending some time in a French bakery.  


All in all it was a pretty good last day in New Zealand.  I’m now back in Sydney for a little less than a week before heading off to south east Asia so stay posted for more of my adventures!

Leave a Reply

